Hello, this is Dr. Purdy calling. I’m a PGY… 2?

To say that a lot has happened over the past year (wait seriously, its been a year?!) is an understatement. The powers that be overseeing my progress at University of Wyoming Family Medicine felt that I had grown enough as an intern to promote me to a second year resident AND put me in charge of an incoming 1st year. I’ve seen and done so many things that its impossible to describe. I finally feel comfortable in the hospital and I’ve grown to love the people I work with. Turns out when you’re forced together with a bunch of people working a crazy schedule and experiencing the most dramatic ups and downs possible, you form bonds. Imagine that.

Tylor and I have settled into the Wyoming life quite nicely. We’ve decided to keep the lease on our current apartment, because its adorable, the landlords are great, and moving is a pain in the ass. He loves it out here. The origin plan was to move to Hawaii, I had everything prepped as per usual. I was even reaching out to some recruiters on the islands. Then, Tylor says – “well babe, I’m really starting to love this cowboy life and I think I wanna stay. I love the wide open spaces, the thought of being my own man, walking the fields with my dog (and future horse), checking the perimeter”. How many times can you even check a perimeter? So now, I guess we’re sticking around. The Midwest and its wide open ranges and sunny skies got to us.

As an added bonus, now that we’re not planning to cart everything we own + a fur baby to an island, guess which lucky doc got to pick up another pup? That’s right, ME. Her name is Lulu and she’s a Labrador Retriever. Brutie is very excited. They’re instagram name is brutieandlulu, and its an adorable page if I do so say myself.

I just can’t believe I’m a second year now. I mean, soon I’ll be halfway through my training. There is still so much more to learn! Every day I make mistakes, but every day I accomplish something I’ve never done before as well. I’m so thankful for the support system I have here. In addition to my family in Vermont and Maryland, and Tylor and my furbabies at home, my co-residents are my rocks at work. They’ve all been through what I’ve been through, all felt what I felt. They’re so willing to be there for me, and vice versa. My emotional well-being definitely took a hit when our 3rd years graduated, but now we have a new class of friends starting. I can’t imagine the mess I’ll be in when some of our current 3rd years graduate. Yikes.

But anyway, we’re living our best domesticated life. There were so many hurdles during intern year that seem so insignificant now. I used to cringe with new admissions, but I’ve smoothed out my own personal method. I feel like I know my patients more holistically and can spend less time doing the research on certain conditions because I’ve already treated them many times before. I know the flow of  the hospital and my role. Its a good feeling considering how absolutely overwhelmed I was when I first started. I wish I had documented my journey through intern year a little more frequently, both so I could process the thoughts and emotions I was going through, and just to know how much I’ve grown, because its so difficult to see right now.

Smiles 🙂

Purdy

 

 

Categories: Residency | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.